The Beat Goes On…

The probation period  is complete at the specialty place.  Amidst a whirlwind of accelerated learning sometimes beyond my capacity and first time exposure to severe trauma cases, I am still standing.

Yes, it is still overwhelming.

I still can’t place a catheter in 2.2 seconds and have yet to place a blood sample catheter. Jugular sticks make me queasy, animal vomit is oh so disgusting when it’s over your shoes and cat urine on a scrub top is so precious, especially when you don’t have a spare on hand.

I still feel so stupid at times.

Oh, so 5% dextrose in a liter bag, oh, so you withdraw x amount to put in x amount of 5% dextrose and yeah Fentanyl transdermal patch or CRI, diluted or straight, calculations on a dog weighing 5.65 kgs-no problem-NOT! And don’t even mention  adding KCI 20mEq to a one liter bag of LRS for a bolus of 20mls/15min.

I might actually know this.

(KCI 20 mEq is equivalent to 10 mls added to a 1000 liter bag of LRS setting the pump at VTBI (volume to be infused)-80 at a Rate of 20mls.)

Confidence level rises as I repeatedly perform tasks.  What I’ve accomplished in a little under 3 years in the field needs to be acknowledge on my part. I am my worst critic and will internalize and dwell on my failures.

The beat does go on…

At times, I do miss general practice. The monotony and treatment of cases, getting to know clients as they return for annuals, favourite boarding animals, procedures, vaccines and DENTALS and Surgery.

But…

Specialty has taught me the’ one size fits all mode’ is not applicable to every animal that comes through the door. A blocked male cat is different from the next one who comes with the same symptoms half an hour later such as the one that suddenly crashes at the age of 2yr on the cold metal table while I breathe for him through a breathing bag to no avail.

IMG_0436

The beat goes on…

I work forty plus hours in three overnight shifts. It takes two days to recuperate and reset my internal clock back to daylight hours only to reset again to night time. When I’m working Inpatient (nursing) you may catch me walking a medical border at three in the morning up and down 55th street.  If I’m in ER you won’t see me as I may be downstairs pumping air into a crashing victim, or attempting to place a catheter in 5.5 seconds through a dehydrated vein.
12799359_10209028759181941_8407308635880863320_n

The emotional and physical aspects of this job are trying at times and during those times of doubt I wonder if it’s time to move on to the next thing (of course animal related).

But…

The beat goes on.

Leave a comment

Blog Stats

  • 1,666 hits